The Homemade Design that Made My Birthday

My Paper Dolls
My Paper Dolls

One of the best homemade gifts I’ve ever received was for my birthday last year, from my best friends, who were still attending college at Penn State University.

My friend Stacy had called me a few weeks before and asked me what I wanted. I hadn’t seen her or my other friend Elaine in a very long time, so all I said was “just you with a big pink bow on top.” She laughed and I didn’t think anything else of it, because she didn’t push me to give her any other ideas for what I wanted.

A few weeks later, while I was pretty bummed that I couldn’t spend my birthday with my best friends, I get a package in the mail from Stacy and Elaine, with three adorable paper dolls of us inside, made from pictures taken during our spring break vacation to California the year before.

The doll of Stacy was her with outstretched arms, wearing a big pink bow. This was one of the best gifts I’ve received, as you could tell that they put a lot of work and creativity into this gift.

Of course, I would expect nothing less from either of my friends, as they are extremely creative individuals, with more artistic talent in their bones then I could ever pull out of mine. They both come up with and create awesome concepts for logos, as well as for advertisements.

Erica as a Paper Doll

Elaine is also especially gifted in copywriting and tagline / slogan writing. They may both be available for hire for graphic design and/or advertising positions or projects, and they come highly recommended by me. If you’re interested, send me an email at ericadewolf [at] gmail [dot] com and I will be more than happy to put you in touch with them.

Stacy has a limited amount of work available at Creative.gd, and both can give you samples of their work upon request. Stacy can also be contacted on StumbleUpon…here.

These paper dolls really brightened my day, and were a lot better then any store bought gift they could have thought to get me. They truly did spend a great deal of time on me, and it made me realize how loved by them I truly am. Thanks Stacy and Elaine!!

Perhaps you can use their creative idea to make your friends or family a “paper doll” of you this holiday season so that they’ll never be without you. It’s a great, inexpensive way to show somebody you care.

This post was written in response to the Homemade Gifts Group Writing Project over at the Denim and Silk blog, written by Tabetha. Thanks for the inspiration! This truly was a wonderful gift and I would have most likely never have shared this great idea if not for your writing project! Thanks again!

3 thoughts on “The Homemade Design that Made My Birthday

Leave a comment