Grad School and Future Plans

As most of you may have noticed- I haven’t been posting as much as I have in the past- in fact, I haven’t posted in a few good months. I thought I should take the opportunity to share with you some of the reasons behind this.

Grad School and an MBA

A few months ago I had the opportunity to apply for a graduate assistantship (GA) at Penn State Erie, The Behrend College, working on web site development for Partnership Erie, an organization at Penn State Erie “established to provide nonprofit organizations in Pennsylvania an opportunity to establish a presence in cyberspace, and to allow students to gain real work experience in a real world environment.”

Since my strength lies more in the design of a web site, and not the programming side of things, I thought that this would be an excellent opportunity for me to not only expand my skills, but to earn my MBA as well. Because I would love to teach a few college courses in the future, I had always planned on earning a master’s degree sometime in the future when I had the money.

This opportunity simply allowed me to achieve this goal sooner than I had anticipated, as the GA will pay the tuition for my degree.

I am extremely excited about this opportunity because I am also going to be assisting Dr. Kathleen Noce with an advanced e-business course that will be taught in Spring 08. I’m very excited to add e-marketing concepts to a college course that will be taught to students!

Because of the pre-grad assitantship work with Dr. Noce over the summer, the wrap-up of my work for a few of my clients, and the preparation necessary for my enrollment in the MBA program, I have not had as much time as I would have liked to work on this blog.

The Future

As I adjust to being in school again, I’m becoming more and more efficient with my time once again. I’m beginning to spend more time on stumble, and have many ideas for posts in the future. Stay tuned for a lot more to come!!

2 thoughts on “Grad School and Future Plans

  1. Welcome back, Erica!
    It sounds like Thanksgiving will be celebrated all year in your new endeavor. Congrats! 😉

    I looked into the MBA program at Penn State amidst the snow storm of last week. It was as bad as anything I recall at Edinboro in sheer quantity of snow,…and as good in sheer beauty. Nice campus at Behrend.

    The MBA is far cheaper on campus than online.
    An MBA at Penn State online is now $49,000 — quoted last Friday. You save a few thousand dollars by attending. The GA is by far a miracle for you to be able to avoid massive debt.

    I was also intrigued with The National Law Journal writing on NOT getting a combination degree just last week. An Ohio State grad put her effort into an MBA and a Law Degree. She found employers “confused” instead of seeing value in her education. The woman, Dina Allam, said she would forego the law degree had she known it means zip to corporate global. It was an expensive and frustrating lesson.

    Your audience can learn from this story:
    http://www.law.com/jsp/nlj/PubArticleNLJ.jsp?id=1202426197661

    Ms. Allam took a job with Wipro, an IT outfit from India, as Client Engagement Manager. THAT title sounded like an overblown sales job title to me…. until I researched what they do. It appears an excellent choice for the future for others to choose for employment. Jobs are readily available in that field. Check it out.

    You may want to look into the Wipro story too, since you are in this field. They are in India, and OUTSOURCING to the USA. But it is less economics and more a USA frustration at dealing with Indian culture in IT. American firms are demanding American workers who bring more than IT knowledge to the table. Wipro caught this wave and trains you in India, before “outsourcing” you back to the States. Consider a future post on WHY this is going on. Fascinating read will follow.

    Your absence was noticed keenly, but your pluck and luck at GA make it all understandable, and worthwhile.
    God bless you on your journey.

    Best regards,
    Danny Lucas

  2. Hi Erica,
    I just wanted to introduce myself… I am working with Dr. Noce for the Independent Council on Aging (ICA) website. I am going to tackle creating a blog for the organization… any tips you could provide would be GREAT!

    It sounds like a great opportunity for you to work w/ Dr. Noce!!!
    Kristen Bires

Leave a Reply

