Viral Video Suggests Grizzly Protection

I got an email the other day from a contact at GotVMail, a company that offers a Virtual Phone System designed for entrepreneurs and small businesses, providing me with a link to this new viral message. I wasn’t sure what to expect- but he had taken the time to write me a personalized email (yes, my name was in the body), so I thought I’d take the time to watch his video. This is what I was shown:

Now, at first I wasn’t sure what this was going to be advertising? I saw from the start that the video in its entirety was only 37 seconds long. I wondered how it was going to relate talking about dying bear’s hair to the company. I got my answer 26 seconds into the clip. I have to say that I was disappointed with how it was brought into the discussion.

They didn’t do a terrible job- but when i think about that ad i’m going to think of grizzly and polar bears, not the company GotVMail. If the product related to the story just a little bit more, I’m sure it would help me to remember the company when talking to others about the video itself.

What do you think? Are you going to remember the bears, or the company?

3 thoughts on “Viral Video Suggests Grizzly Protection

  1. Hi Erica,

    The video ad concept is like the old journalism technique of bury the headline… which has clearly changed in the blogging & SEO days of the Internet.

    Gotvmail contacted my blog as well so I give them credit for being tenacious and getting the word out to niche “business” & “web” audiences.

    However, it’s too bad the word isn’t so clear GotGaryBusey? or GotGrizzly? doesn’t help the small business. I’ve used this service in one of my startups and actually liked it. Maybe they should run ads with real life entrepreneurs spanning multiple industries for some real world traction.

  2. Hi Erica,
    Personally, I wouldn’t bother forwarding this. It’s a video of a guy talking about dying the hair colour of bears so they look like Polar Bears.
    I can imagine there being some pretty funny visuals of someone actually trying to do that which would actually make the video something I’d laugh at, although, as you mention, the advert doesn’t really relate to being able to be called anywhere, or at least not easily.

    What would’ve been interesting is if they partnered up with a hair dye company and had some funny cutaway clips to someone trying to dye the hair colour of a bear.

    Anyway, whilst it’s an ok attempt, it fails to impress me.

Leave a Reply

