New Look and Update

NEWAs of last night, a layout and theme new to my blog has gone live! If you’re reading this post in a feed reader and haven’t yet checked it out, please visit the blog to see the site.

I would appreciate any feedback on the new look, good or bad.

I also have been very busy with a few things for this site, and wanted to give you a little sneak peak at what you can expect within the next few months:

  • My completed email campaign management tool (ESP) reviews are coming up within a week (I apologize for not getting these out sooner…trying these out and reviewing them has proven to be a more extensive process then I had originally thought!)
  • I began writing a guest post series which will appear on The BlogEntrepreneur, a blog about blogging, blog monetization, and various other categories under the e-marketing umbrella.
  • A closer look into mobile marketing
    • video marketing via mobile devices
    • potential of the RFID chip embedded in mobile devices
    • redeeming coupons and paying via mobile devices
  • And more!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

11 thoughts on “New Look and Update

  1. Well, to be honest, I’m a feed reader so don’t even remember what your site looked like before!

    That being said, this is a good template. I’ve seen it on blogs throughout the web and many of them have used it quite effectively. I would, however, have to echo the comment above and say it could be seen as a tad ad heavy on the left, but that might not be as bad as I want to think. And I might not have taken so much notice had I not read the comment above mine.

    Also, do you really “need” the calendar widget on the right? I mean, personally I find those kind of tacky and pointless, but if you have a purpose for it then I suppose it works.

    The header looks great, though! And your brand shines as soon as the page is loaded.

    My two…

  2. Erica…I think it looks great. I think you should consider going the self hosting route and getting off WordPress.com but that is your decision.

    I am out of town so I haven’t had a chance to get your post “posted” but it will be up no later than this weekend.

    Have a great week.

  3. Thanks everyone for your comments, keep them coming!

    @ Kyle and Eric: I agree that the left hand column is ad heavy. I’m experimenting with ads to keep on the page and which would be better elsewhere.

    @ Bill: I’m working on going self hosted, just haven’t got around to it due to all of the activity going on with my clients. It’s high on my to do list. Also, I saw my post on your blog. It looks great! Thanks!

  4. Where is your picture? A lot of people trust website / blog when they see a picture of author. I got a client who paid me over $1500 for SEO consulting only because he saw my picture and it gave him trust to hire me.

  5. If you are looking for subscribers and want to track your subscribers via FeedBurner you should change your code in the header to show FeedBurner feed instead of WordPress cutom feed in the browser window (Windows / Mozilla).

  6. I like it! How did you get all of those advertisers to be on your blog? I got this blog update through the new RSS feeder I have. See you on Friday!

  7. @Sergey: thanks for the comments. I had my picture on the old style of my site, and was fighting with the idea of simply taking it off. However, you’re right. You convinced me. I’m going to put it back.

    Also, I would love to change the code so that my feedburner feed is showing instead of the wordpress feed, but I’m not yet on wordpress.org, I’m still being hosted on wordpress.com and haven’t found a way to do that yet. Am I mistaken?

Leave a Reply

