My First Time with Squidoo

SquidooAfter coming across several “getting started” with Squidoo articles and blog posts, and continuously telling myself that I was going to sign up and check it out, I finally created my first Squidoo lens. The whole experience took me about fifteen to twenty minutes, including writing my lens content.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with Squidoo, it is a site that allows members of the its community to create lenses, or easy-to-build, single web page that can link out to blogs, favorite links, RSS feeds, Flickr photos, Google maps, eBay auctions, and more! Lenses usually contain educational material such as how to guides and handy tips and tricks on every topic you can think of, from Raising Seahorses at Home to Everything You Wanted to Know About Fraggle Rock (oh how I miss that show).

The sign up process of Squidoo was quite harmless, not asking for too much information, but simply collecting the basics so I could do what I went to the site to do: create my first lens!

Step 1: What is your lens about? After deciding what you would like to make your lens about, come up with a title for it.

2Step 2: What do you want to do with your lens? Here, you indicate how you plan on utilizing your lens. Is it a way to get the word out about a topic, make money by promoting related products, create a list, or something else? In my experience, it seems that this option simply changes which modules are included in the initial lens. We’ll talk about modules in a little bit.

3Step 3: Title and URL: Here, you come up with the title of the article and the custom URL (www.squidoo.com/your-lens-names), as well as a category and a rating for your lens- is it R rated, or is it a more kid friendly G version?

4Step 4: Help People Find Your Lens: choose tags for your lens so people will be able to more easily find your site.

5Step 5: Modify and Customize Your Page: At this point, your page has been created. Add content by editing the different modules that have already been added. Those that have been added depend on the type of lens you said you were making in Step 2. Modules are simply chunks of content that make up your whole site.

I was quite pleased with my first experience with Squidoo, and plan to create some more lens soon. I plan on experimenting some more with the best ways to monetize Squidoo, and I’ll be sure to share my findings.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

5 thoughts on “My First Time with Squidoo

  1. Hi Erica,

    Great post about a topic I too had heard so much about and just never taken the time to explore. I’m looking forward to creating some lenses as well and appreciate the guidance!

    Take care,
    Alan

  2. I am not a big Squidoo fan. In my list it is just another social network which i vidit once in a while.
    I really love Zimbio and Sphinn. Newsvine is a good one, but they benned my account after I was trying to submit my own article (links) without knowing their policy. Newsvine does not allow to sublit your own links 😦

  3. @Sergey Rusak

    Thanks so much for your input. I’m sure others will check out these social networks that you recommended. Thanks!

  4. Erica,

    I’ve made some easy to follow videos about several of the ‘modules’ in squidoo. I’m always looking for feedback from new Squidoo members on what kind of information they want to learn. If you don’t mind, swing by and check them out and let me know what you think!

    I’ve had some pretty good luck monetizing Squidoo so far, if you have any questions, let me know and I’ll try to help.

    Welcome to the Squidoo community,
    The Captain

Leave a Reply

