Podcast: Audio, Video, or Both?

This morning I was catching up on my emails, reading all of the newsletters with all that good Web 2.0 stuff, when I overheard a co-worker talking about podcasts. Apparently, she was in a meeting with some Penn State Erie individuals that worked in the Media field. My co-worker had been referring to podcasts as video. They immediately corrected her and said, “no, podcasts are just audio.” Under my understanding, podcasts could be video or audio. It started me researching…

Webster’s Dictionary calls it “audio.”

a Web-based audio broadcast via an RSS feed, accessed by subscription over the Internet”

Oxford English Dictionary mentions “audio” but uses the term “or similar:”

n. a digital recording of a radio broadcast or similar program, made available on the Internet for downloading to a personal audio player.”

Wikipedia calls it “digital media.”

A podcast is a digital media file, or a series of such files, that is distributed over the Internet using syndication feeds for playback on portable media players and personal computers.

Which is right? The term “podcast” was original created by smushing together “iPod” and “broadcasting.” At that time, iPod was an audio MP3 player. Nothing more. Today, the iPod is a multimedia player: mp3s, movies, video, photos, etc. The term iPod evolved, and so should the term “podcasting.”

Because this evolution of the definition of the term is brand new, we could assume that Wikipedia has the most accurate definition, because it is “user generated.”

Others call video and audio podcasting two different things: podcasts and vodcasts (video podcasts). Do we need another term? Can we use both? And finally…who decides this? Everyone is using different terms. Who decided that spoons will be called spoons and how did they convince everyone to start calling them spoons?

One thought on “Podcast: Audio, Video, or Both?

  1. And, I never heard of smushing either!
    Adults are such dolts.
    I pictured what my peanut butter and jelly sandwich looks like when I make one…smushing??
    I pictured what I do with Oreo cookies after I lick the cream outta the center and try to put the two outer sides together. Smushing??

    So, I learned to go to a user generated site and found this:
    http://fno.org/apr05/smushing.html

    The pictures of the Earthmovers smushing along are worth the view.
    Have we crunched smash and crush? SMUSH??

    My education came from Dr. Seuss:
    Up feet, down feet,…here come clown feet”

    The derivative of a spoon is major bafflement.

    You make me laugh. :-O 🙂 😀
    Jack will be pleased that you have become my Heart Attack Prevention Medicine….Smush Broccolli.
    Blessings, Erica

Leave a Reply

