Aggregating Web 2.0!!

First of all, I’d like to apologize for not writing in a while. I’m wrapping up my final week at eBizitPA as a full-time employee, and preparing to consult with organizations needing assistance in email marketing, e-marketing, web design and layout, and Search EnginEmail2e Optimization. resumeJust as a side note, I am currently available and very qualified to assist you with YOUR marketing project. To see if I’m the right fit for your endeavor, see my resume or email me with any questions or concerns.

So, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m currently writing the curricula and doing research for a Web 2.0 presentation, in which the basic ideas and concepts of Web 2.0 is presented to an audience of nonprofits. After the presentation, the content will be elaborated upon to be relevant to all industries.

One major trend that I noticed was that I can NOT keep up with all of this new web content and new applications. I know I’ve mentioned this in my “Keeping up with new media…” post, in which I complain about how I don’t know anything about Twitter. But I had honestly thought that I would have been more caught up by now. I can not believe how many RSS Aggregators, social bookmarking and folksonomy tools there are out there. By the way, I would recommend you read the linked Wikipedia description of folksonomy. And each of these “Web 2.0” sites, of course, requires you to create a username and password.

So, every day I come into work, turn on my computer, and open about 5 tabs in my web browser, and proceed to sign in to each site (although some do allow you to stay signed in). So I’m wondering why there isn’t a site that does it all yet.

Google has iGoogle, which is extremely close to what I am looking for. My Gmail email is right beside the documents that I store online, which is beside my Google Reader feeds, which is beside my bloglines updater (It has to take you to the bloglines site to see the titles of the posts in your feeds…). So yes, iGoogle pretty much does all of this.

My issue is that I want things to be easy. When I go to iGoogle for the first time, I want to have two tabs. One for a calendar, date and time, weather, etc. And then another for “Social Tools.” I’d like to see Google Reader, my email, Google Bookmarks and all that good stuff already there for me. Yes, I was able to get that after I searched for the documents and made everything customized to me. But perhaps they should offer different tab options that already contain this type of “stuff.”

I want everything to be accessible from one page. I don’t want iGoogle to take me to my Google Reader page, I want to view the content of all my feeds from iGoogle (or at least have the page open up in a new window! I hate using my back button and always forget to right click, and open in new window.)

Another problem I have is that, even though I have the same username and password for Google Gmail, Reader, and Documents, it asks me to fill in the password before I can see the contents of each. If I sign in once for one application, shouldn’t it recognize for the others?

So, this post was pretty unorganized. Because that’s how it feels when it comes to the sheer amount of Web 2.0 applications, and the numerous tools available for each one. What do you think? I’d love to hear from somebody who is so tech savvy that they pick up on each and everyone of these applications, and can tell me which is the best RSS aggregator, social bookmarking/ tag tool, and why me and Feedburner just don’t get along. Hope to hear from you soon!

Leave a Reply

