Keeping up with new media…

I consider myself to be a pretty hip 21 year old. I understand the majority of new media and e-marketing outlets that are out there. I know how to use iTunes to put my music and files on my iPod and mp3 players.. I know how to download and subscribe to podcasts. I’m even learning how to create podcasts. I know how to blog (obviously). I’m getting more familiar with search engine optimization. I don’t text very often but I can text a semi-short quite fast (But i’m sure my 16 year old cousin can out-text me any day), and my phone is my lifeline.

Twitter logoBut despite keeping up with all the new media that are not quite so new anymore, I can’t seem to keep up with the newer “new media.” This would include one such concept that has been around for about a year, but I have been relatively unaware of until just this past month. I’m talking about Twitter.

To learn more about this newer “new media,” I started where I always start with research, and googled it. To my surprise, I ended up with several twitter websites or applications such as Twitterific. I opted to look on Wikipedia, and found that this service debuted in San Francisco, March of 2006, and created by a start up company called Obvious Corp. The creators are Noah Glass and Jack Dorsey. Twitter is

“a free social networking and micro-blogging service that allows users to send “updates” (text-based posts, up to 140 characters long) via SMS, instant messaging, email, to the Twitter website, or an application such as Twitterrific.” (Wikipedia.org)

Feel free to visit Twitter’s wikipedia or homepage in order to learn more about it, as the concept is an extremely interesting one. Individuals can sign up or “subscribe” to follow an individual with twitter. Those who subscribe will be notified via text messaging, IM, or email so that they can keep up with that individual.

I was extremely surprised to find out that there are some famous individuals that use twitter, including politicians John Edwards and Barack Obama, and Actor David Hewlett. Click their names to see their twitter pages.

The whole thing, in my mind, is bizzare. It’s cool that you’re able to follow your favorite politician’s political actions and agenda, but what about your best friend’s twitter updates? Do you really care what they’re having for dinner or that they’re reading a book? It seems some of this could be stalkerish…but at the same time. the concept is cool. What does everybody else think? Does anybody use twitter? Has anybody not or have heard of it?? Let me know!!

P.S. Check out this blog about Twittering. If you’re interested, it seems to be a good step by step guide on how to get started.

One thought on “Keeping up with new media…

  1. Erica, glad you’ve discovered Twitter and Twitterrific! I hope you’ll give it a go and don’t be too quick to dismiss its potential. The twitter community has grown by leaps and bounds and is finding all kinds of new uses.

    Of course, the best thing about Twitter is its ability to keep you in touch with friends and family quickly and easily. The only down side is, you have to convice or know such people who use Twitter. But once you get a few friends set up, I’m sure you’ll start to see why so many people are addicted.

    Enjoy and take care!

Leave a Reply

